Thompson Speedway’s Dust Settles As Does Vermont’s Bragging Rights

Last week’s drama, the final race of the season, took place at the 5/8th mile oval, Thompson Speedway. On the line was the Season Championship with the drama involving a battle between two Modified drivers hailing from Vermont vying to be only the third different driver to win the TNT Whelen Modified Championship in nine seasons under the STR Simracing banner. This would be a North South Shootout of sorts as Jim Windrow in the #12 from Concord and the Chad Barcomb in the #50 out of Brattleboro would duel for all the marbles. When the pit gates opened for the evening, Windrow had a 6 point advantage over Barcomb. Eighteen drivers would take time and Windrow appeared to gain a little more advantage when he set fast time at 20.886 sec. However Barcomb was like white on rice, finishing 2nd, but nonetheless evening the score slightly starting outside of row one. During Happy Hour, Barcomb could not help but relive the three prior visits to Thompson this year that resulted in wins and had to be feeling good when the drivers line up on the starting grid. The green flag dropped on the field for the 100 lap event. Windrow would jump out to an early lead but would face challenges for the lead from the #83 Chris Taylor, the #13 Dave Melson and the #50 of Barcomb. The race was slowed 14 times having 6 lead changes among 4 drivers. Chris Taylor would have a tough night finishing 8 laps down and last on the field with a broken gearbox. As the race ran on, Barcomb was the beneficiary of the slow downs once he took the lead and played into his strategy, leading 68 laps when the checker flag waved. Dave Melson, leading 25 laps would finish 0.51 behind with Todd Taylor in the #4 rounding out the Top 3, 0.95 out. The #12 of Windrow would fade to a 6th place finish. Series officials went to the books and the calculators were burning up to find in the end, Barcomb would gain a tie in the points picking up the 6 point difference. It was then on to the tie breakers. We only had to go to the first one, race wins. Barcomb 6 – Windrow 4. Ironically Barcomb’s Thompson dominance over Windrow this year cemented his first TNT Whelen Modified Championship under the STR Simracing Banner joining two other drivers, the #13 Dave Melson and the #58 Fred Hill.

The Final Point Standings for Series Drivers: Barcomb, Windrow, Melson, Hill, Warden, Kring, Savary, T Taylor, C Taylor.

The Series will be off for a couple of weeks while officials work on scheduling for Season 10. Series will continue to run on Tuesday nights with both Series and Invader drivers taking the starting grid. Schedule will be announced as soon as it is finalized. Thanks to all the drivers who supported the Series!