Dave Melson Wins Season 6 TNT Whelen Modified Championship – Season 7 Starts Up

Season Final at Thompson Speedway August 29, 2017

The TNT Whelen Modifieds pulled into the Thompson Speedway for the Season Final. The points battle was down to two drivers, #13 Dave Melson out of Stayner, ON and the #58 Fred Hill out of North Brunswick, NJ. The #12 Jim Windrow out of Concord, VT unloaded off the trailer and set fast time during practice with a lap of 20.795. Dave Melson, #37 Matt Smith, Wasaga Beach, ON, #21 Danny Savary, Walpole, MA all followed with laps in the 20.8 bracket. There were 14 cars lined up to take time. The Matt Smith #37 machine scored the pole with a lap of 20.858 and was joined on the outside of the front row with the #21 Danny Savary. The raced was slowed 8 times for 37 laps. There were 8 lead changes among 6 drivers with Danny Savary leading 46 laps. When the Checker flag waved it was the #21 Danny Savary for the win beating the #13 Dave Melson by -0.54 followed by Brattleboro, VT #50 Chad Barcomb, #37 Matt Smith and Portage, MI #32 Bill Kring rounding out the top 5.

Race Winner

#13 Dave Melson wins the championship over the #58 Fred Hill by 24 points, followed by the #59 Rich Warden, the #32 Bill Kring and the #12 of Jim Windrow rounding out the top 5.

Season Champion

Last week the Series Director finalized the Season 7 schedule. There will be 19 races total with 4 Doubleheader events. Venues that will have 2 visits during the course of the year will be Thompson and Stafford with new stops at Martinsville and New London Waterford Speedbowl. New to this season schedule will be a dirt track race at the New Egypt Speedway. Doubleheader events will be at Catamount, Star, Oxford and Riverside Park Speedways. Stops will also be made at Spencer Speedway and the 3/4 mile Pocono oval. Local drivers will be competing with the Series regular drivers. Get reading to kick off the season with the Fall Opener 100 lap event at Thompson Speedway, Tuesday, September 12, 2017. Pit gates open at 8:30 PM EDT.